The main intention of APGAW is to keep MPs and Peers informed about animal welfare issues and to develop potential legislation that lifts standards.  Regular meetings and events provide an opportunity for those with a common interest in animal welfare to meet and debate their views and the views of others.  APGAW also sets up working groups to investigate and report on areas of concern to the group.

The group owes much of its success to Dame Janet Fookes and Roger Gale MP (both Conservatives), who tirelessly worked hard to establish the group.  From 1997 until 2005 Ian Cawsey MP (Labour) Chaired the Group, while from June 2005 to May 2010, Eric Martlew MP (Labour) took on the role.  In July 2010 Neil Parish (Conservative) was appointed chairman. Marisa Heath has run the group on behalf of the Members of Parliament since 2009.

In 2014, APGAW set up its first sub-group to focus solely on dog issues and Angela Smith MP (Labour) was appointed Chair. 

Group activities range from informal gatherings such as receptions to formal presentations by organisations at meetings, letter writing, tabling Early Day Motions and Parliamentary Questions. APGAW has also in the past organised visits to animal establishments and written and commissioned reports.

Click here for an Overview of APGAW's recent work