Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Labour)

Jim entered Parliament in 1997 and in 1999 he was appointed Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to the Chief Secretary to the Treasury Alan Milburn until becoming the Secretary of State for Health. After the 2001 General Election he became an Assistant Government Whip, becoming a Lord Commissioner to the Treasury (Government Whip) in 2002. He was again promoted within the Whips Office in 2003 when he became the Vice-Chamberlain of the Household. Jim was then appointed a junior minister at the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister with the role of Minister for London. In June 2007 he moved to become the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department for Transport. Fitzpatrick was promoted to Minister of Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs in the June 2009 reshuffle where he remained until the 2010 general election. 

Caroline Lucas MP (Green)

Caroline was elected as one of the Green Party's first MEPs in June 1999 to represent the South East of England region and was re-elected with an increased vote share in 2004. She has been highly involved in many animal welfare issues and chaired the Eurogroup for Animal Welfare. Caroline joined the Green Party in 1986 and has held many positions including National Press Officer (1987-89) and Co-Chair (1989-90). In 2008 she was elected Party Leader. She won the party's second County Council seat in 1993 and served on Oxfordshire County Council until 1997.

Caroline received the Michael Kay Award from the RSPCA in 2006 for her outstanding contribution to European animal welfare and BBC Wildlife listed Caroline in their 'Top 50 Conservationists'. In 2007, 2009 and 2010 Caroline was voted Ethical Politician of the Year by Observer readers in their annual Ethical Awards and in 2008 was judged one of the Guardian's top "eco-heroes."                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour)

Kerry McCarthy MP is the Labour MP for Bristol East. She sits on the Environment Audit Committee and in the past sat on the South Werst Regional Select Committee and the Treasury Committee. Kerry was Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (2015 to 2016), Shadow Minister (Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs) (2011 to 2015), Shadow Minister (Treasury) (2010 to 2011), Opposition Assistant Whip (Commons) (2010 to 2010), Shadow Minister (Work and Pensions) (2010 to 2010) in opposition. 


Lord Trees (Cross Bench)  

Professor Trees is a leading veterinary surgeon who has worked in general practice, industry and academia and was appointed chairman of the internationally renowned animal health research institute the Moredun Research Institute. Professor Trees is only the second veterinary surgeon to enter the House of Lords, joining Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior in Parliament's upper chamber. He was formerly President of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons and Dean of Liverpool University Veterinary School.

Rob Flello MP (Labour)

Rob Flello was elected to the House of Commons at the 2005 general election for Stoke-on-Trent South. In parliament he has been a member of the Science and Technology Select Committee, and became the Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Lord Chancellor, Charles Falconer, Baron Falconer of Thoroton in 2006 after which he became Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, Hazel Blears. In 2009 he became Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Defence, Bob Ainsworth. in 2014, Rob led the APGAW Sub-Group on Dogs which published the well-received Dog Strategy setting out a clear pathway for responsible dog ownership, breeding and trading in England.

Andrea Jenkyns MP (Conservative)

Andrea Jenkyns was first elected in 2015 taking the seat from Ed Balls.  Her background starts with working her way up from a "retail Saturday assistant to senior management", with 15 years in management in the private sector working for multi-national companies.She also worked in the public sector via her music tutor work in three secondary school and then opted to retrain in her late 30s and completed a diploma in economics from the Open University before graduating from the University of Lincoln aged 40 after studying international relations and politics. A vegetarian for most of her adult life, Andrea is a "massive animal lover" who owns two Miniature Schnauzer dogs. She would not vote to "repeal" the fox hunting ban.

Sheryll Murray MP (Conservative)

Sheryll is a Conservative member who was selected to contest South East Cornwall in 2010 and won the seat with a majority of 3,220. In May 2012 she was elected to the 1922 Committee by her Conservative colleagues. Her Bill, the Marine Navigation (No.2) Bill received Royal Assent as the Marine Navigation Act 2013 in April 2013.